Award Criteria

The overall goal of the Molly Towell Perinatal Research Foundation is to encourage perinatal research in Canada. According to Dr. Towell’s direction, the Foundation will support original and innovative research, which she defined as the pursuit of new information derived from basic biomedical or clinical research. High priority is given to projects that concern fetal growth or metabolism but any studies that involve original research in fetal or neonatal medicine will be considered. However, purely epidemiological research or clinical trials will not be considered. Also excluded are retrospective and cross-sectional surveys and chart or record reviews, database explorations of all types, population epidemiology, economic studies, health services research, opinion/preference surveys, and anthropological studies. Depending on application pressure, the quality of the applications and the performance of the endowment investments, additional or fewer awards may be given.

Molly Towell Fellowships for candidates with special aptitude for research

These Fellowships are intended for post-doctoral research training (not undergraduate) in a discipline relevant to our areas of support. Full-time faculty members are not eligible. Clinical training is not supported.The stipend will be up to $30,000 (CAD) per year for up to two years. The Foundation expects that the award will be supplemented or matched by the host institution. Applications where there is evidence that guaranteed matching funding is provided will be given preferential rating. The second year of funding will be provided following receipt of a satisfactory progress report from the first year. Fellows who already have secured a full-time Fellowship from another source are not eligible to apply. This award is intended only to provide a stipend to the successful applicant and cannot be used for operating expenses.

Please read the Grant Policy.

Previous Award Recipients

Please click here for a list of past New Investigator (no longer offered after 2018) and Fellowship Award Winners.