Board Members

The current members of the MTPRF Board include:

  • Dr. Peter Mitchell (President)
  • Dr. Alan Bocking (Vice-President)
  • Mr. Brian Phillips (Secretary-Treasurer)
  • Ms. Jane Bryans (Director)
  • Dr. Jennifer Blake

pic-peter-mitchellPeter Mitchell

Dr. Peter Mitchell is a Professor in the Departments of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Physiology at the University of Alberta. With Dr. David Olson, he helped establish the Perinatal Research Centre, which has become part of the current Women’s and Children’s Health Research Institute at the University of Alberta. The major focus of his research laboratory is to improve understanding of the mechanisms of preterm and term parturition. His team has published over 100 papers in the peer-reviewed press. He has served on many national and international peer review committees relating to both clinical and research activities and has been President of the Molly Towell Perinatal Research Foundation since 2008.


abocking2Alan Bocking

Dr. Alan Bocking is a Professor in the Departments of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and Physiology at the University of Toronto and Associate Scientist at the Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital. He is the former Gordon C. Leitch Chair of the University of Toronto, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and Chief of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Mount Sinai Hospital, the University Health Network and Women’s College Hospital. Dr. Bocking’s main areas of study are the mechanisms underlying infection–mediated preterm labour. His other research interests include developing new diagnostic tests for preterm labour, exploring the developmental origins of health and disease and the mechanisms underlying Fetal Achohol Spectrum Disorder. He has published over 100 manuscripts in the peer-review literature.


Brian Phillips: MTPRF Board of DirectorsBrian Phillips

Brian Phillips joined Board in 2012 after a lengthy career in portfolio management, and upon retirement from Phillips Hager and North Investment Management. He has enjoyed being on numerous NFP boards, where he held senior officer roles. Brian’s focus is governance, and fiscal oversight.





Jane Bryans - MTPRF Board of DirectorsJane Bryans

Jane has been a board member of the foundation since its inception in 1989, shortly before Molly’s death. As a good friend of Molly’s she was helpful during the establishment of the foundation. Through her late husband she had connections with many in Obstetrics and Gynaecology and in Paediatrics. Jane has been dedicated to enacting Molly’s wishes for the foundation and her continual presence and commitment is primarily responsible for the foundation’s success. She is pleased to note in her own words that, “She is known as The Corporate Memory of the institution.”



jblake5Jennifer Blake

Dr. Jennifer Blake is Chief Executive Officer of the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC).  She has held several clinical, academic and leadership roles, including Chief of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and Head of women’s health at the Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Chief of Pediatric Gynaecology at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto and Undergraduate Dean of McMaster University’s medical school. She has also served as Professor and Associate Chair at the University of Toronto and is Adjunct Professor at the University of Ottawa.  Dr. Blake has a bachelor of science from the University of Waterloo, and from McMaster University a medical degree and a master’s in health research methodology.  In 2011, Dr. Blake was named as one of the top 25 women of influence in Canada. She was fortunate to have learned clinical obstetrics from Dr. Molly Towell, while a resident at McMaster University.

To access Members area, please click here.